Electoral Commission publishes names of new MPs



Zagreb, 290620.
Hrvatski sabor , Mala vijecnica.
Drzavno izborno povjerenstvo (DIP) odrzalo je konferenciju za medije u Hrvatskom saboru na temu organizacije glasanja na izborni dan
Na fotografiji: Ana Lovren, Djuro Sessa
Foto: Damjan Tadic / CROPIX
Damjan Tadic / CROPIX

President of the State Election Commission Đuro Sessa and Vice president of DIP Ana Lovrin

The State Electoral Commission (DIP) on Monday afternoon made public the names of candidates who won seats in the 151-seat parliament in Sunday's elections.

The largest number of deputies, 66, come from the ruling Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ).

The SDP-led Restart coalition mustered 41 seats, while the Homeland Movement led by Miroslav Skoro secured 16 seats.

The parties and coalitions with a single-digit number of parliamentary seats are: the Bridge party (8), the green-left coalition led by the We Can! platform (7),  the coalition led by the Party with a First and Lat Name (3), the Reformists led by Radimir Cacic (1) and the Croatian People's Party (1).

In Constituency No. 12, in which ethnic minorities elect eight MPs, the majority of the Serb minority's vote went to the Independent Democratic Serb Party (SDSS) and its candidates Milorad Pupovac, Dragana Jeckov and Boris Milosevic.

Robert Jankovics will again represent the Hungarian minority, Furio Radin the Italian minority, Vladimir Bilek the Czech and Slovak minorities, and Veljko Kajtazi the Austrian, Bulgarian, German, Polish, Roma, Romanian, Ruthenian, Russian, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vlach and Jewish minorities. Ermina Lekaj Prljaskaj will again represent the Albanian, Bosniak, Montenegrin, Slovenian and Macedonian minorities.

A total of 1.736 million out of 3.86 million eligible voters went to the polls, or 46.9%. An average of 17 candidates ran for each seat in the parliament, and their average age is 48.6 years.

According to incomplete election results, 35 women have been elected to the new parliament, coming from various political parties, which is significantly more than in the previous parliament.